Physics of Karma You Need to Know

In the previous post on the subject  Law of Karma – 1 – Basic, we have read, there are predominately eight types of Karma which a soul can attract. In this post, we will see what is Karma & its Physics.

There are in all nine elements in the universe. One out of nine is Ajeev i.e Non Living. This Ajeev has five types and one of the five types is Pudgala. Pudgala is derived from the words ‘pud’, which is defined as Supplement (Addition), and gala, which is defined as Disintegrate, or Division.

Therefore, Pudgalas are best defined as all things that are continuously changing by the process of Supplementation or Disintegration, namely matter.

The individual unit of Pudgala is the material from which all is made, smaller than protons, called a Paramänu, which, by the process of supplementation, can combine to form what can be roughly said is an atom, called a Skandha, Either individually or in combination, this similar type of Skandha is known as Vargana.

There is infinite Vargana or cluster of Vargana in each Pudgala. There are eight clusters of Varganas which a soul can attract. Out of these eight Varganas, four are visible and four are invisible. Like our body is also made up of these Varganas and we can see that. Karma is one of the four invisible Varganas. Invisible Varganas are:

Varganas which helps us in speaking, breathing and thinking are known as Bhasha (Language) Vargana, Swasoswas (Breathing) Vargana and Mano (Thinking) Vargana. The fourth one is Karman Vargana i.e. Karma which is attracted to the soul.

Handpicked related post: Ashrav – Why You Need to Know How A Soul Attracts New Karma?

This Karman Vargana is extremely minute and invisible. These Vargana are present everywhere in the cosmos.

Every soul has this invisible Karma Body which is made up of Karman Varganas. The Karma body is a dynamic structure having a regular input of Karma Vargana and exit of karma, which have matured.

Soul attracts Karman Vargana due to vibrations. The soul experiences vibrations due to activity involving attraction (Raag) and aversion (Dwesh) attributes. Vibration takes place every moment at the level of our thoughts, speech and body movements.

That means with every vibration of a Soul, it attracts Karman Vargana which is like an invisible minute particle is attracted to the Soul. Karman Vargana attached to the Soul is known as Karma.

Dr Narayan Lal Kachhara in his paper – Jain Dualism – 2, writes;

“The vibration in the soul (non-physical) induces vibrations in the karma body, which experiences vibrations of the same type that is the karma body vibrates at a particular frequency. The vibrating karma body attracts karman vargnas of the same frequency from the cosmos due to the phenomenon of resonance. These incoming varganas get bonded with the similar karma, present in the karma body due to the force of activities of body, speech and mind and the passions that originated vibrations in the soul. Thus new karmas are formed in the karma body.”

The attraction of Karmas to the Soul can be compared with:

A person with oil applied to his body attracts many more particles than a person without oil. Oil can be compared with the vibration of the soul.

Quantity and stickiness of the particles will be much more of an oily body as compared to the non-oily body.

When a soul attracts Karma, Karma comes with four kinds of bondage to the Soul. These are:

  • Type – Broadly it is out of any eight
  • Tenure – Life of the Karma i.e. time within which it will give its fruit
  • Intensity – Intensity of its result. There are four degrees of intensity.
  • Quantum – Quantity of Karman Vargana

Every Karma when attached to the body, comes with these four types of feature. This can be understood by an example of a medicine tablet.

Handpicked related post: Nirjara – How to Get Rid of Karma?

A tablet can have a few types, expiry date, its power of intensity and size.

Type and quantum are decided by the level of involvement of mind, body, and speech while tenure and intensity are decided by the level of attraction (Raag) and aversions (Dwesh).

This is very important as well as a bit heavy subject, so more on this next time.

Share your views, comment and share with others if you think it’s relevant for them.


Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s